#18 of 365 – “finally”

“finally”

  

when I inherited

my children,

I worried that

my love for them

wasn’t quite real,

and I was frightened

that my anger

would cause wounds

that wouldn’t heal.

I saw discomfort

and dis-ease

where playtime

should’ve been,

their innocence,

a walkway

to realities

that were grim.

come to realize

I was watching

my own

wounded child within,

and that my kids

had taken her hand

so that her life

could finally

begin.

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Children, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #18 of 365 – “finally”

  1. SassyD says:

    WoW! Now, you are a Mother. There can be no doubt

Feel free to comment.

