#32 of 365 – “lessons”

“lessons”

 

I have a worry,

a hidden fear,

deep

and profound

 

that my children

won’t respect me

when my secret

is found

 

I dropped out

in tenth grade,

one of those

not so good decisions

 

that if I could edit

my life,

would be

one of the revisions

 

I feel ashamed

when things come up

that any high school student

should know

 

and I question

the wisdom

I have

to bestow

 

my experience

is the only education

from which

I’ve drawn

 

my mistakes,

the only lessons

I have

to pass on

 

except that love,

with it’s boundaries,

which do not

exist

 

must be shown,

at all cost,

no matter what else

is missed

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in love, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #32 of 365 – “lessons”

  1. Jackie says:

    got goose bumps from head to toe — this is beautiful, M

  2. pi314chron says:

    Merle, thank you for pointing me to this poignant poem. I guess we all drag our ghosts along with us until one day we decide the day has come to deal with them. Your day will assuredly come and life will be so much better!

    Warmest Respect,

    Ron

Feel free to comment.

