#39 of 365 – “side effects”

“side effects”

 

it was a shock

the first time

she was exposed

to my despair

 

with no echoes

to warn her

that an emptiness

was there

 

she was frightened

that any life

together, was hanging

in the balance

 

and I was scared

that medication

would bring a medicated

silence

 

but now I’m grateful

for the meds

that keep me

on an even kiel

 

grateful that

I can usually

function, no matter

how I feel

 

but the price

I pay to avoid

the occasional

incapacity

 

is indeed

a muted response

and a vague

spontaneity

 

what I would give

for my sanity

and the ability

to thrive

 

without having

to pay for it

with my sex

drive

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Medication, Poetry, sex drive, side effects and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment.

