#42 of 365 – “damage”

“damage”

 

my job requires

that occasionally

I have to pitch

my wares

 

have to smile,

pretend

I don’t feel unworthy

or scared

 

my stomach curls

around the nervousness

I try very hard

to manage

 

hiding the lack

of confidence

and its window

to inner damage

 

but it helps to remember,

everyone

has their own

hidden disadvantage

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #42 of 365 – “damage”

  1. thanks

    On Mon, Nov 11, 2013 at 10:25 PM, ElevenFifty9 wrote:

    > Blackbird posted: “damage my job requires that occasionally I have > to pitch my wares have to smile, pretend I dont feel unworthy or scared > my stomach curls around the nervousness I try very hard to manage > hiding “

  2. Sassy D says:

    Yes we all wear masks –it’s what it is to be human. It helps me also to get that everyone else is as scared of what I think of them as I am of what they think of me. Funny actually.

    Thanks

Feel free to comment.

