#44 of 365 – “envy”

“envy”

  

I’m embarrassed by the fact

that I am jealous of my children,

 

jealous of the multitude of gifts

that they’ve been given

 

so smart and already planning

for what they want in their lives

 

so much time in front of their faces

and dreams in their eyes

 

I am sickened that I wasn’t

as wise at their age

 

and instead of living, made

the decision to simply disengage

 

and though I’ll use what I have left,

my envy cannot be assuaged

 

a secret, I just assume not 

put down on a page —–

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Children, Envy, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment.

