#50 of 365 – “letters from the universe”

“letters from the universe”

  

forgetting

is a dangerous place

for me to be

 

ripe

with scattered glass

and toxic debris

 

when I’ve forgotten,

I forget

how the misery comes

 

how dishonesty builds

till the dark walls

are done

 

forgetting

where I’ve been

makes me wander there again

 

till I remember

that my wandering

always leads to a dead-end

 

and that the path

I trudge with others now,

is a slow and steady ascend.

 

how ridiculous

to forget the only place

where I can mend

 

where there are letters

from the universe

with lessons I actually comprehend

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Recovery and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #50 of 365 – “letters from the universe”

  1. Going through now.

    On Tue, Nov 19, 2013 at 10:07 PM, ElevenFifty9 wrote:

    > Blackbird posted: “letters from the universe forgetting is a > dangerous place for me to be ripe with scattered glass and toxic debris > when Ive forgotten, I forget how the misery comes how dishonesty builds > till the dar”

Feel free to comment.

