#56 of 365 – “brood”

“brood”

 

there is a stone

that begins to fall

when the holidays

approach,

growing heavier

as dense, clumsy

emotions

encroach

with uneasiness,

ineptness,

and an unflattering

mood

that makes me

small and silent

and likely

to brood.

I want so much

to feel the warmth

of contentment’s

wide open space,

and the freedom

of my family’s

accepting

embrace,

but I am angry

that my limited

means

cause me disgrace,

by the ingratitude

and envy

that darken

my face.

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Envy, Holidays, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #56 of 365 – “brood”

  1. mrchokeys says:

    Finally at 54 I no longer feel the deep shame and resentment, just gratitude that after all I put them through I still have my family’s love and acceptance, however there is a lingering sadness that I have nothing concrete to show in the way of “achievements.”

    • Blackbird says:

      That’s very cool. I can get there sometimes, but still feel bad when I can’t contribute the way I want to…lot of stuff in December and January – holidays, anniversary, birthdays(plural)!…always wrestling with what I have vs what I want to for the people I love. But, gratitude is indeed the answer. Thanks for the comment!

Feel free to comment.

