#57 of 365 – “remembrance”

“remembrance”

 

I am confused by my past

don’t know which parts are real

don’t know what I remember

or what I’ve chosen to conceal

 

I can’t remember a time

before something was wrong

a time before feeling

I didn’t belong

 

something, not good happened

too soon after birth

that changed how I shuffle my time

on this earth

 

wish I could be sure

of what stole away my sleep

and left my emotions

in a disheveled heap

 

but my memories from age three

are only images, at best

and the image that has haunted me

is one of incest

 

it is the remembrance of today, however,

in which I now invest

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Incest, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment.

