#76 of 365 – “insomnia”

“insomnia”

  

I ate crackers last night

and walked the floors

looked out of the windows

and checked all the doors

 

made sure there was no where

for morning to creep

as she stalked me all night

and scared off my sleep

 

I shuffled from room to room

in search of asylum

trying to avert her secret weapon

of my own mental maelstrom

 

but there was no place to hide from her

no place to rest

she beat me

and I sat with my crackers, depressed

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Depression, Insomnia, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment.

