#77 of 365 – “rags”

“rags”

 

I find myself lost again

in the alleys of regret

 

wearing my rags

of failure and neglect

 

my colors are drab

and I stink of defeat

 

with broken bits of esteem

crushed under my feet

 

there’s a painful wind blowing

with shards of anger

 

and a haze in the air

of oppressive languor

 

I need cover

from my mind’s insatiable barrage

 

a roof that is more

than a flimsy mirage

 

so I keep searching for shelter

where the mortar is strong

 

where the music smells sweet

and the floors are warm

 

and my prayers aren’t left

on the curbside, forlorn

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Failure, Hope, Poetry, Regret, Self Esteem and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #77 of 365 – “rags”

  1. SassyD says:

    Blackbird, you are a genius describing your internal state. I can relate. Thank you

  2. I adore this –
    you did an amazing job

Feel free to comment.

