#78 of 365 – “vicissitude”

“vicissitude”

 

my alley came to an end

at a main thoroughfare

 

filled with people with soft eyes

and open hands everywhere

 

I turned and left my envy

in the alley with the rats

 

took my shame into a basement

and left it there trapped

 

laid my anger out

and offered it up in sacrifice

 

and realized the rags of regret

will no longer suffice

 

what a strange mountainous

walk I take into vicissitude

 

where fatigue is what it takes

for me to find some gratitude

 

I hope tomorrow this fatigue

will also bring me fortitude

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Change, Fortitude, Gratitude, Poetry, Recovery, Regret, Shame and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #78 of 365 – “vicissitude”

  1. SassyD says:

    Beautifully spoken.

Feel free to comment.

