#79 of 365 – “unicorns”

“unicorns”

 

it is so hard for me to admit and to accept

that I’m ok

 

fearing the only alternative to depression

is some blank-minded naiveté

 

filled with sunshine and unicorns

and meaningless yammer

 

as if anything real must be pounded out

by misery’s hammer

 

I come from my own gutters and back rooms

and mud-filled thinking

 

muted at an early age

with all manner of drugs and drinking

 

I have the blood of those years

smeared all over my consciousness

 

and I seem to stay so close to the edge

I live in constant precariousness

 

but I am ever moving inward

to a life of courageousness

 

as long as I remember

I am one careless step away from hopelessness

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Addiction, Courage, Poetry, Recovery and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #79 of 365 – “unicorns”

  1. pi314chron says:

    Gripping! If you write a book…poetry or otherwise…you’ve already come up with a fantastic title — “Sunshine and Unicorns!” A lovely and memorable phrase.

    • Blackbird says:

      Thank you so much! I actually am working on a book…but that’s another “story.” Thanks so much for commenting. You’ve inspired me to write some Haiku. If I achieve half the measure of your exquisite wordsmithing, I’ll be doing great. Will be interested in your response…tonight’s post will be Haiku. Love your work!

Feel free to comment.

