#84 of 365 – “turnips and stone”

“turnips and stone”

 

I am trying to squeeze new behavior

from turnips and stone

 

excavating from the wreckage of deeds

for which I must atone

 

my hands are dirty, as I dig to uncover

a brighter disposition

 

through the layers of marsh and rubble

of dark and stubborn composition

 

my clay runs deep into the night

beneath the roots of my past

 

into the sediment of sins

from which my colors have been cast

 

I’ll walk my ruins when I find them

and learn the secrets that they hold

 

and then I’ll clean my relics off

and gently pick out the gold

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Recovery and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment.

