#88 of 365 – “old stone churches”

“old stone churches”

 

I fear the grieving stillness

of disappointment in her eyes

 

fear the hungry roots of worry

that choosing me has been unwise

 

growing out of troubled soil

into a slow and strangling vine

 

that wraps around the years

until she finds herself confined

 

I want to bring her warm music

and soft open spaces

 

comfortable dinners

and velvet embraces

 

I want to watch the downy sanctuary

of contentment as it emerges

 

from a trust in our future

as strong as old stone churches

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in disappointment, Hope, love, Marriage, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #88 of 365 – “old stone churches”

  1. pi314chron says:

    Merle, write your beloved poems as hauntingly beautiful as this one and she will never ever feel confined or strangled. In my experience a woman would rather have a poem written to her by her husband than to have flowers and chocolates showered upon her! One of your most sublime poems so far!

    Ron

    • Blackbird says:

      Thanks so much Ron! Always appreciate your encouragement, experience and comments!…but uhhhh…hope you’re not disappointment…thought you knew…I’m a woman. Don’t worry…and truly no need to apologize or anything…with a name like Merle, I’ve been getting that since I was a kid and actually looked like a boy. 😉

    • Blackbird says:

      Obviously, most of my poems don’t indicate a gender, but an older post does: #18 of 365 – “finally” is the only one I can remember with a clear reference, if you’re interested. You know what’s funny…I thought you were a woman until I saw your signature at the bottom of some comments. Oh well…what does it all matter anyway…. 🙂

Feel free to comment.

