#91 of 365 – “flying”

“flying”

 

I’m always nervous

right before a plane takes off

 

worrying that the oxygen masks

will have some cause to drop

 

I feel the jealousy of gravity

trying to keep us on the ground

 

and once we’re cheating with the atmosphere

she tries to bring us down

 

it feels unnatural

climbing shaky stairs into the sky

 

and all I can do is pray to the gods

that today we all don’t die

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Fear of Flying, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #91 of 365 – “flying”

  1. pi314chron says:

    Wow! You have tapped into my thoughts on flying…exactly! I will NOT fly now unless some dire emergency demands it. Period. I worry about every “profile-unworthy,” backpack-carrying, furtive, swarthy, bearded individual in the airport…not just on the plane I’m in. And if there is a bird within 50 miles of the airport, I hyperventilate and go into a manic-panic attack in which I envision a “bird strike” bringing us all down and then flying away without so much as a ruffled feather! OHHHH! How I relate to this powerful poem!
    Bravo, Merle! 😛

  2. Blackbird says:

    Oh my God!…too funny, Ron! Glad you enjoyed it. I’m pretty sure there are still fingernail marks in the arm rests of the plane I was on yesterday…sooo much turbulence! Oh, how I love the ground!

    • pi314chron says:

      lol — Me too! I try not to grip the arm rests anymore. With my eyes shut, it would be just my luck if the guy next to me had a wooden leg and I thought I was holding on to the arm rest and…oh, you get the picture! *giggle*

      Ron

      btw…feel free to write anytime at my cosmos41 email acct. 🙂

Feel free to comment.

