#92 of 365 – “thirteen years and counting”

“thirteen years and counting”

 

I woke up this morning tired, my head busy

from lack of sleep

 

felt like I’d been drinking and had tossed

my life, like garbage into the street

 

my mind was squeezed, my eyes pinched

between the need for a pain killer

 

and my body wouldn’t follow, as if

my mind’s language was unfamiliar

 

I sat thinking, thankful

that I’m not where I was before

 

smashed and broken, laid out and legless

and washed in on a drunken shore

 

it’s been more than thirteen years since

my turbid darkness drank up all my light

 

and I’m grateful my mornings are no longer

simply spoiled, leftover nights

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in alcoholism, Poetry, Recovery and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #92 of 365 – “thirteen years and counting”

  1. pi314chron says:

    Merle, just incredibly powerful! Love the way that the “light” has been victorious for the past thirteen years where once the darkness ruled. Gripping imagery and testimony to your strength, resolve, and will to overcome.

    I hope the first day of 2014 has been golden…may this year bring you much peace!

    Ron

    • Blackbird says:

      Thank you Ron! Really appreciate your comments. Yes, for the most part, the darkness I lived in for many years prior to 2001 has significantly lightened. As they say….but for the grace of God go I…whenever I see some poor slob or slob-ette stumbling down the street (there are a lot of bars around where I live)…I’m grateful not to be stumbling right along with them.

      Hope your entry into 2014 was peaceful as well…and I’ll look forward, as I always do, to more of your Haiku!

      Merle/Blackbird

  2. sassyD says:

    Congratulations!!!! I am so grateful for your courage and commitment to your sobriety

  3. Blackbird says:

    Thank you so much! That makes me feel really good.

Feel free to comment.

