#94 of 365 – “inshore”

“inshore”

 

I am sad and scared again

it seems to happen so fast

 

as if I’ve fallen into a river

ever-flowing, deep and vast

 

I sit on soft and placid currents

out of sight of my disorders

 

until my tiny little boat

is thrashed and flung into white-waters

 

I sink like leaden stone

into a dark and hidden stream

 

grasping at twigs of hope

like I’m trying to snatch fibers of a dream

 

the blackened tide of low esteem

through my defense, still rolls inshore

 

sickening my blood and tainting my thoughts

with colors I deplore

 

I only hope that there’s a clearing

or some reef to which I can swim

 

where murky waters turn into clear skies

and foul thoughts turn into hymns

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Depression, Poetry, Self Esteem and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #94 of 365 – “inshore”

  1. pi314chron says:

    Ohhhh….*sigh*….how does anyone even *start* to comment on a poem that is composed of a cry for understanding, a cathartic struggle with the dark forces that beset us all, and the powerful expression of hope in the final lines. All I can say is…the poem grips my heart and compels me to say what I hope doesn’t sound trite — I am here for you in whatever way you may need me and pray the brighter days will soon return. In words you already know, “This, too, shall pass.” ((hugs))

    Ron

    • Blackbird says:

      I can’t tell you how much that means and what immeasurable comfort your compassion and friendship brings.

      ((hugs)) accepted.

      Thanks Ron…with more thanks than “thanks” can express.

  2. SassyD says:

    Blackbird, your imagery is stunning. The reader is right there with you .My wish for you is that you move in peace, courage and confidence through the storms. The only way out is through.

  3. Michael56j says:

    Keep going. One step at a time.

Feel free to comment.

