#98 of 365 – “poverty”

“poverty”

 

I am angry my family of origin

lives in a perpetual dire strait

 

and the prayers we pray for the dreams we dream

do nothing to negate

 

the troubles that the love we have

cannot eradicate

 

I am angry that my parents

never seemed to get ahead

 

and I’m left with the shabby clothes

of a possible future that I dread

 

a poverty in my mind

that seems to be inbred

 

and a dark state of ingratitude

I’ve been unable to shed

 

I hope that God is hiding a secret light

to fill me with instead

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Family, God, Ingratitude, Money, Poetry, Poverty and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #98 of 365 – “poverty”

  1. sassyD says:

    Just maybe that secret light God is hiding is the understanding parents often make decisions to raise their children in safe, clean, attractive environments; maybe they make the decision to pay for the best education available for their children starting with preschool thru college for those who wanted that; ; and maybe these decisions meant that parents don’t live as well as they might have otherwise.

    • Blackbird says:

      And therein lies my “dark state of ingratitude.” You are, of course, right. I’m saddened by the prospect that my spewing has hurt you and all the parents who sacrificed their potential wealth for their children. Thank you is an inadequate expression of appreciation…but nevertheless…Thank you!

      • sassyD says:

        First, thanks accepted.
        I would not say as parents, it is hurt that I feel. We are confident that we made the best choices with respect to our children, and can accept that your experience of the past is just that, your experience–and
        that can not be invalidated.

Feel free to comment.

