#102 of 365 – “beneath the storm”

“beneath the storm”

 

time to curl up and defend

against the wind that strips me bare

shredding the golden clothes

that cover up the rags I wear

on top of a dingy nakedness

below the reach of prayer

 

time to hunker down and guard

against the jagged, whipping rain

that rips away the currency

of esteem I can’t constrain

as I fight to keep my footing

on this perilous terrain

 

time to stretch beyond my aching mind

lost in the thunder of aversion

as I brace against the fervor

of a lightning fast submersion

beneath the storm of primal echoes

and crushing reversion

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Depression, disappointment, esteem, Poetry, Recovery and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #102 of 365 – “beneath the storm”

  1. pi314chron says:

    A symphony of hurt and pain…but the cymbals are poised throughout the poem to thunder forth their golden resolve and hope. You sooooo need to publish these gorgeous testimonies to the will of the human spirit to survive……….then thrive. You’ll know when it’s time to give the world a book. May it be soon! –Ron–

  2. Blackbird says:

    You are very kind…thank you so much for the encouragement and wonderful compliment!

    • pi314chron says:

      Reading my comment again, I sound like a pompous ass! Sheesh! But when I find poetry like yours, my comments just naturally climb “over the top!” I meant every word of what I said, though. Bravo for this one….for sure!!

  3. Blackbird says:

    Well…now you just sound silly! 😉 You have never sounded like a pompous ass! You know what the telltale sign you’re not a pompous ass is?….you just called yourself a pompous ass. A true blue pompous ass would never ever do that! Thanks for your “over the top” comments….they are much appreciated! Now stop calling yourself names!

Feel free to comment.

