#103 of 365 – “metal”

“metal”

 

mercy from the skies

trouble from below

today I travelled in between

with no clear way to go

 

I felt strange and faint

like warmth swallowed up in the snow

and off-balance, trying catch my breath

on the edge of vertigo

 

I waited for the blessings

I hoped the heavens would bestow

waited for the sub-terrain

to offer it’s furlough

 

but what I needed was my own

permission, finally, to grow

and the willingness to take my metal

and shine it for the show

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Change, Poetry, Recovery and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #103 of 365 – “metal”

  1. pi314chron says:

    Simply inspired! Strangely, I hear both Emily Dickinson and Robert Frost in the thumping cadence. A wonderful, wonderful display of depth and precision, Merle!

  2. Blackbird says:

    Wow! Thank you so much Ron. Just to be mentioned in the same sentence as Emily Dickinson and Robert Frost is an amazing compliment…and it means even more coming from you.

Feel free to comment.

