#109 of 365 – “lye”

“lye”

 

I have to make her things

I pray she’ll like

 

hide my embarrassment

in the balm of night

 

and hope it will be obscured

in the light

 

I don’t have money

to take her on trips

 

and my wishes for both of us

remain in eclipse

 

and still her love for me

spills from her lips

 

it hurts me much more

than I think it should

 

I know my regrets of the past

come to no good

 

still I pressure myself

more than she ever could

 

but when I see disappointment

bring clouds to her sky

 

a torrential ache pours

and burns through me like lye

 

and I feel I will drown

in my guilt and just die

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Guilt, love, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #109 of 365 – “lye”

  1. pi314chron says:

    This…you know — Things will get better and life will be golden again. Let the past be a closed door and the Universe will open doors to the future…beyond all imagining!

    Ron xoxox

Feel free to comment.

