#111 of 365 – “silhouette”

“silhouette”

 

I don’t like what I’m writing

like what I’m feeling even less

 

I feel molested by my anger

and robbed by my distress

 

it’s been so long since decisions

were made purely for survival

 

with no thought of the future

or my own punitive reprisal

 

I have paid for those choices

and the darkness they embedded

 

and tried to banish consequence to graves

and prisons for the wretched

 

but shady years, like criminals

have only slipped into silhouette

 

trying to masquerade as reason

for my muddy introspect

 

their disguises though, are old

and worn thin by vile intention

 

and their walk through my resolve

is something I no longer sanction

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Recovery, Self-Forgiveness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #111 of 365 – “silhouette”

  1. pi314chron says:

    Love your very impressive “off rhymes” ..so much more impact than the moon, June, croon, swoon sort of swill we see so often in online poetry. Did you intend “instrospect”? Think you meant “introspect,” but what’s one letter among friends…or between friends for that matter! Very solid and so hopeful in the last two lines. Good work!

Feel free to comment.

