#114 of 365 – “anesthesia”

“anesthesia”

 

 

I am scared that all the good words

have already been taken

 

worried that the lines I make

will simply be forsaken

 

I write out of desperation

for someone to remember

 

out of fear that I will fade

into the vagueness time engenders

 

I dread evaporating into the ether

like the smoke of amnesia

 

and so I write to numb

the pain of foreboding like anesthesia

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Death, Immortality, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to #114 of 365 – “anesthesia”

  1. thebattlefieldwithin says:

    i don’t know how you do it. Your poems are like the thoughts in my head that I can’t fathom into words. All I can say is keep writing if it helps to numb the pain. I’m thinking of you, hugs xx

    • Blackbird says:

      Thank you so much! Really appreciate the encouragement…and thank you for taking the time to read. Oh boy!…if my poems are like the thoughts in your head, we’re both in trouble! 😉 Honestly though, it’s comments like yours that keep me going…knowing someone is getting something. Thanks again!

      • thebattlefieldwithin says:

        Anytime dear! I suppose we are in trouble, but I guess the only thing we can do is keep fighting. We got this! I always love reading your poems. Please keep continuing to make more, they’re really beautiful. (=
        Hugs, xx

      • Blackbird says:

        Thank you very much! That really means a lot. I’ll keep writing…and you keep writing too!

      • thebattlefieldwithin says:

        You’re very welcome! I’ll definitely keep writing (=

  2. pi314chron says:

    I often feel the same way as the thoughts you share in this poem — that my words will fade away just as our lives most surely will. But that is the natural order of things, i suppose. The best we can hope for is to make the load lighter for people along the way and, by the way we manage our pain and distress, serve as an inspiration and a source of hope. The poem is gripping, all the more so because of its sincerity and openness. Well done, Merle!

Feel free to comment.

