#115 of 365 – “penance”

“penance”

 

I am tired and achy

my bones weak with remorse

 

my mind a crumbling pillar

of dreams hard to reinforce

 

I slept through the morning

trying to disappear mistakes

 

and scattered through the afternoon

trying to extricate

 

bleak thoughts that rushed into me

like sudden traffic

 

and dark feelings that spilled

undirected and hemorrhagic

 

I was caught by a low-breathing

panic of discontent

 

and so I curled inward as a means

to halt my descent

 

and waited for the stone penance

of guilt to lament

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Depression, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment.

