#125 of 365 – “apparition”

“apparition”

 

I am not better

I still cheat

and lie through omission

 

still sit and deny

my own crimes

in commission

 

I have no readiness

against maladies that rebel

against remission

 

and I’m disordered

and angry

that I lack a strong conviction

 

to prevent

my field of sanity

from shrinking through attrition

 

until my soul

has no more room to live

and falls into perdition

 

where the truth

becomes no more

than a long passed apparition

 

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Denial, esteem, Poetry, Recovery, Self Esteem and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #125 of 365 – “apparition”

  1. pi314chron says:

    It’s always a pleasure to experience your felicity with the English language. “Apparition” is a tour de force of a single strong end rhyme for seven stanzas. Remarkable! And you can quote me…..I give you my “permission!”

Feel free to comment.

