#134 of 365 – “grizzly bears”

grizzly bears

(when the wounded child within came knocking unannounced)

 

she came late,

too late

to play

with stuffed grizzly bears,

too late

to play hide and seek

under the stairs.

too late,

and the world

would not let her in,

neither they, nor I

understood

where she’d been.

she came late,

too late

and even I

turned away,

frightened

of what she was trying

to say.

please, I prayed,

do not come in here

today.

please, I begged,

do not come in here

to play.

but she ignored me

and came ready

to play anyway,

until

finally

I invited her in

to stay.

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Incest Recovery, Inner Child, Poetry, Recovery, Therapy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #134 of 365 – “grizzly bears”

  1. pi314chron says:

    Oh, Merle…if this isn’t your best, it’s unBEARably close! (Sorry, I couldn’t resist!) You carry the “inner child” theme delicately throughout and have me wanting another 50 verses! Just totally wonderful! If you weren’t a friend, I’d be jealous!

    Ron

  2. Blackbird says:

    Ron…I don’t even know what to say. You’re too too kind! I have much to catch up with – still loving your haiku – promise I’ll get to commenting….Thanks, my friend! Oftentimes, you truly make my day!

  3. sassyD says:

    How powerful is that–embracing and owning your wounded child! You demonstrate the resilience of the human spirit..

Feel free to comment.

