#141 of 365 – “warm rafters”

“warm rafters”

 

rain

making no bones

comes

to clear out the snow

 

and wash

away dirt

as she tries

to bestow

 

some sort

of beginning

to the end

of this day

 

as we,

weary of Winter’s

unending

display

 

run

for warm rafters

to lessen

the sting

 

of the long

bitter wait

for the promise

of Spring

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Nature, Poetry, Rain, Seasons, Snow, Spring, Winter and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to #141 of 365 – “warm rafters”

  1. pi314chron says:

    I get the general overall idea in this poem but don’t understand the “warm rafters” reference. All the rest I “think” I understand. Could you say a few words to help me get a fuller comprehension of this one? Hang in there; spring IS waking up! 🙂

  2. Blackbird says:

    Rafters is just a general reference to having a roof over one’s head in which to be warm…being inside…being home. Perhaps it was a little too obscure.

    • pi314chron says:

      No, “rafters” is hardly an obscure word. Nor is “obtuse” an obscure word…you know…the word that describes me sometime! Not a bad poem at all, now that I’ve got my head out of (you know the rest!).

    • pi314chron says:

      “some sort/of beginning/to the end/of this day” — Yes! To me this is reminiscent of many Zen type concepts in Japanese haiku. These four short lines are the rare jewel in a setting that doesn’t call attention to itself and lets the jewel shine. Sorry I didn’t see the “jewel” earlier in my niggling about rafters! 🙂

  3. Blackbird says:

    Oh, thanks Ron! That’s nice of you to say…and your niggling makes me take another look to make sure I didn’t go off the deep end…just happy that you’re still reading. 🙂

Feel free to comment.

