#144 of 365 – “accidental sightseer”

“accidental sightseer”

 

sleep becomes me

in the afternoon,

drapes me

like fine silk

 

patches dreams

into my daytime

like a warm

and comfy quilt

 

I briefly fade

and reality

softens

behind me

 

and ever present

concerns

fall away

like debris

 

I enjoy

these moments

where I lift

into the ether

 

perusing

my subconscious,

an accidental

sightseer

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Naps, Poetry, Sleep, Subconscious and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #144 of 365 – “accidental sightseer”

  1. pi314chron says:

    Rhyming “ether” and “sightseer” is surprising, thought-provoking and brilliant!

    The first stanza where sleep drapes you like fine silk is one of the loveliest metaphors I’ve read in a very long time. 🙂

    Ron

  2. sassyD says:

    Absolutely brilliant description of a satisfying afternoon nap. Wish I had written it myself. Ah well–something of me has been transmitted.

Feel free to comment.

