#145 of 365 – 4 Haiku about finding your child on a scary path

4 Haiku about finding your child on a scary path

  

my daughter takes things

then lies to cover the tracks

everyone can see

 

 

she’s almost thirteen

as we count the troubled years

only she can change

 

 

we are scared for her

behavior we recognize

because we’re addicts

 

 

if experience

passed on were only enough

there’d be no worry

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Addict Behavior, Addiction, Adolescence, Children, Haiku, Parenting, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #145 of 365 – 4 Haiku about finding your child on a scary path

  1. pi314chron says:

    Nice! How well I remember having some of these feelings about my son and daughter when they were growing up. Your haiku brought it all back to me and I worried all over again…but quickly remembered that they are both grown, with children of their own, and doing well in life. I guess next I’ll worry about the grandkids!

  2. sassyD says:

    I seem to recall scary moments and behaviors that got me on my knees to pray. Maybe , at 13, your daughter is testing the limits of your structure, your love , your consistency–all of that. I think that’s what 13 year olds so. What can I get away with here? Don’t panic–trust what you have already put in place.

    From The voice of experience.

Feel free to comment.

