#153 of 365 – 6 Haiku about my big brother

6 Haiku about my big brother

 

 

he dug rivers, lined

them with ant graveyards and towns;

always played alone

 

 

he wore girls’ platforms

though our neighborhood snickered

he kept his head high

 

 

he wrote me urging

I stay in school; never did

we talk about it

 

 

he knew before me

told Mother I was gay; he

was only half right

 

 

so many gay prides

we marched ― straight to the bars to

drink to belonging

 

 

I rarely call him

hardly see him; we drank

so much; he still does

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in alcoholism, Bisexuality, Brother, Family, Gay, Haiku, Homosexuality, love, Poetry, Sibling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #153 of 365 – 6 Haiku about my big brother

  1. pi314chron says:

    So intensely personal, so ineffably sad in some ways…joyous in others, so pregnant with raw emotion — I don’t know what to say…except to say, “I AM SO EVERLASTINGLY PROUD OF YOU!! And am soooo honored to call you my friend! ((Hugs!))

    Ron

  2. pi314chron says:

    And…the details in the first haiku are heart-stopping! This haiku is one of your best!

    May I have it?………………………(pause………………JUST KIDDING! *hehe*

    Ron

  3. Blackbird says:

    And I am very honored and extremely grateful to call you my friend. I can’t tell you how much your comments and friendship mean to me Ron! “Thanks” is a poor substitute for how I feel…but…thanks!!!!!

  4. T. D. Davis says:

    You encapsulated your entire lifelong relationship with him in this post. Wonderfully – succinctly – done!

Feel free to comment.

