#155 of 365 – “connections”

 “connections”

 

some quintessence of well being

left me a long time ago

 

ripped fertile possibilities out

so little else would grow

 

left a barren lot of purpose,

a dust bowl of gratitude

 

an empty sky of lost hope

and a frightened solitude

 

there are so many dark pathways

I have travelled in my mind

 

that the narrow trails of light

have been so hard for me to find

 

but I keep looking for connections

I can form and follow ‘round

 

till I am standing in the promise

of contentment’s hallowed ground

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in alcoholism, Depression, Drug Addiction, Incest, Poetry, Recovery and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to comment.

