#156 of 365 – 8 Haiku about my father

8 Haiku about my father

 

 

the TV was small; 1973

in the kitchen Daddy yelled

“Come on, Billie Jean!”

 

 

I’m told they argued

I never heard; but Daddy

always seemed angry

 

 

he’d throw, I’d go long

in the front yard where all was

as it should have been

 

 

his hair was so soft

he always had joints me and

my sister could smoke

 

 

flashback; me, Daddy

playing; but it wasn’t fun

we were both naked

 

 

I wouldn’t call him

for years; got better, started

calling; soon he died

 

 

I have his ashes ― 

strange that I’m the only one

who wanted any

 

 

I don’t remember

his laugh; but I remember

the sound of his moods

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Daddy, Death, father, Haiku, Incest, Parent, Poetry, Recovery and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #156 of 365 – 8 Haiku about my father

  1. Thanks for post. My sister and spread our dads in 2012. Died in 1998. Tough years for us all it seems. Dean.

    On Thu, Mar 6, 2014 at 10:00 PM, ElevenFifty9 wrote:

    > Blackbird posted: “8 Haiku about my father the TV was small; 1973 > in the kitchen Daddy yelled “Come on, Billie Jean!” I’m told they > argued I never heard; but Daddy always seemed angry he’d throw, I’d go > long in the front”

  2. Blackbird says:

    Yeah…tough years when a parent dies…no matter what the relationship was like. Thanks for reading…and thanks for commenting – I really appreciate it.

  3. pi314chron says:

    I tried to read these dispassionately…just as an onlooker or casual reader. I couldn’t. They kept morphing into physical parts of your life…pain made flesh…hurt lived again and again…and I became angry…just like your father. Finally, I had to quit reading after the third or fourth time. There is much I don’t understand…will NEVER understand, but this one thing I know — you are a lovely human being, a tender spirit, an angel of God to them who know and love you and one I am proud and honored to have as a friend.

    Always,

    Ron

    • Blackbird says:

      Again, “thank you” is simply an inadequate response sometimes…but nevertheless…thank you Ron! Your friendship is a gem in the weeds!

Feel free to comment.

