#157 of 365 – 8 Haiku about my mother

8 Haiku about my mother

 

I jumped in her arms

she held me, long as she could

till I got too big

 

 

she sat on our beds

each night we had our own time

when she was just ours

 

 

she didn’t know why

my body cast made me not

want to go to school

 

 

abortion clinic

on the way we were quiet

on the way home too

 

 

when Granny died, my

mother went back to church to

find something she’d lost

 

 

she believed me; cried

when I told her what I thought

my father had done

 

 

we have laughter where

there used to be silence where

there used to be pain

 

 

her being older

surprises me; I still see

her like I’m just ten

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Abortion, Childhood, Growing Up, Haiku, High School Drop Out, Incest, Mother, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #157 of 365 – 8 Haiku about my mother

  1. Thank you,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,wish mine were alive. Miss my mom.

    On Fri, Mar 7, 2014 at 10:00 PM, ElevenFifty9

    • Blackbird says:

      I can’t imagine my life without her…but I try not to treat her like she’ll be here as long as I will. Thanks for the comment…and thanks for reminding me that we don’t have forever…

  2. pi314chron says:

    You are blessed to have such a mother — who wears wisdom with such grace and who loves with no thought of the cost. I love the balance of the individual haiku — two centered on the good; the next 4 centered on the bad; and the last 2 centered on the good again.
    Lovely work, Merle. 🙂

  3. sassyD says:

    Baby, this poem brought tears to my eyes–tears of gratitude and joy. Live every parent , I have moments of doubt. Did I do everything I possible for my children? You reassure me. Given where I was at the time, I did the best I could. That is a blessing beyond all blessings.

Feel free to comment.

