#159 of 365 – “shoreline”

“shoreline”

 

working makes me feel useful

as if I matter in the world

and for those moments I can catch the wind

in sails that have unfurled

 

the rocky shoreline fades

as I push out to sea

until the spaces open wide

and the waves are soft and free

 

but when the workday ends

the lowly tide brings me back to shore

where my usefulness gets pulled like sand

back to the ocean floor

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Depression, esteem, Poetry, Recovery, Usefulness, Work, Worthlessness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to #159 of 365 – “shoreline”

  1. pi314chron says:

    Very, VERY…(shall I say…) AWESOME?!! This is your true poetic voice, Merle. Even in the last stanza where you return to “reality,” the negative is muted and understated. I like it! I like it! ((((((((((( HUGGZ! ))))))))))

  2. sassyD says:

    Now this one I don’t quite get. When my official day job ended, another one was waiting at home — three children and a husband–all waiting for Ma to rattle those pots and pans. That job ended when the last little girl I sat with at night finally closed her eyes.Who would that be? I would fall exhausted to bed–admittedly sometimes, sleep was still a ways off–unless I had a headache.So, I would say, your kids and your wife would not experience you as useless.

    • Blackbird says:

      Thanks Mum! You’re probably right, but I feel that way anyway…especially when I’m not making enough money. I’m working on trying to develop my own sense of value not attached to what I make…but it a slow slow, not always successful endeavor. Thanks for your support!

      • sassyD says:

        I have to remember, it is not easy to avoid being defined by money–it’s the culture of the planet, and you are living with a wife who makes more money. What if you chose other measures of success. What if you chose another more empowering context each day in which to live? Try it. Your word is power. Your world is as you say it is.
        Love you

Feel free to comment.

