#160 of 365 – “wading”

“wading”

 

I am wading through thinking

that feels thick and sallow

polluted with commitments

that lay broken and fallow

 

I worry the things

I have not gotten done

that the day has all gone

and I’ve not yet begun

 

I wonder,

will I ever be free of this fray,

and does God forget to answer

when I forget to pray?

 

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Depression, God, Poetry, Praying and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #160 of 365 – “wading”

  1. Same days repeat from time to time………….for sure. Thanks for post!

    On Mon, Mar 10, 2014 at 10:00 PM, ElevenFifty9 wrote:

    > Blackbird posted: “”wading” I am wading through thinking that feels > thick and sallow polluted with commitments that lay broken and fallow I > worry the things I have not gotten done that the day has all gone and I’ve > not yet begun I w”

  2. pi314chron says:

    You expressed very neatly what I see as your (and MY) over-thinking in many areas of our lives. A counselor told me many years ago that I was “burning my brain.” He was probably right on target. As creative people, we live inside our own head…in worlds of our own making. In this poem I see you wanting to be all things to all people, worrying about things over which you have little or no control, and finally…wondering if God will hear and answer your “unvoiced” prayers. As good parents, we feed, clothe, educate, and take care of our children’s medical needs, whether they ask or not. Will God do any less…for us?

    Hang tight, Merle. The best is yet to be.

    Ron

    • Blackbird says:

      Thanks Ron! I very much appreciate your encouragement, support and friendship! At this point, I’ll have to take your word for it…hanging tight….

Feel free to comment.

