#162 of 365 – “olive branches”

“olive branches”

 

disappointment,

rich and fatty

and obese with power

 

feeds on my temperament

‘til my thoughts

taste old and sour

 

I try to sweeten them

with sugar

and lighten them with cream

 

but failure

keeps my disposition

shadowy and mean

 

and my vision

of the future,

muddy and hard to glean

 

so I hang tight

to the olive branches

I could never have foreseen

 

momentary glimpses

past the darkness

from which I cower

 

and someone by my side

who brings me

to the morning hour

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Depression, Failure, Hope, love, Money, Poetry, Self Esteem and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #162 of 365 – “olive branches”

  1. pi314chron says:

    Ahhhh! Great and satisfying closure in the last stanza! In the sixth stanza, last line — “I could never have foreseen” scans better (to my ear). Ya pays yer money and ya takes yer pick!

Feel free to comment.

