#165 of 365 – “4 am”

“4 am”

 

4 am is beautiful

velvety and serene

 

as if the whole world exists

on the edge of a dream

 

alternate realities

fading in and out like breaths

 

parallel universes

inside peripheral clefts

 

I walk the streets and wonder

as dawn dissolves the night

 

if time folds up this beauty

and hides it in the light

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Alternate Reality, Dawn, Night, Parallel Universe, Poetry, Time and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #165 of 365 – “4 am”

  1. [?]

    On Sat, Mar 15, 2014 at 10:10 PM, ElevenFifty9 wrote:

    > Blackbird posted: “”4 am” 4 am is beautiful velvety and serene as > if the whole world exists on the edge of a dream alternate realities > fading in and out like breaths parallel universes inside peripheral > clefts I walk the s”

  2. pi314chron says:

    Yes! A veritable of delicious images! I especially like the nicely obscured musical reference,,,the “parallel universes” I assume to be the parallel lines of a musical staff with its tantalizing “peripheral clefts.” Wow! Lots to chew on in this really “thinky” poem.
    Bravo, M. D.!

    • Blackbird says:

      Oh, thanks Ron! I’m afraid this wasn’t quite as clever in the musical sense – uhmm, cause I was actually talking about parallel universes and alternate whatchamacallits and thingamabobs that may exist just beyond our peripheral sight/vision/knowledge – right in the clefts between what we see and don’t see…though I love your interpretation! That’s the beauty of poetry…maybe I should’ve just said thanks and left it at that….yeah, yeah…that’s it!…that’s what I meant…what you said! 😉

      • pi314chron says:

        Ahhh! Upon re-reading, and in the jargon of the 50’s, — I dig it! I dig it! A little deep for the old haiku poet, but if I can slog my way through T. S. Eliot in a college course in another lifetime, surely I can get out in the deep waters of M. Davison!

Feel free to comment.

