#180 of 365 – “menagerie”

“menagerie”

 

like a menagerie

of dreams broken

on my life’s floors

 

old behaviors,

airborne

on emotional spores

 

attach to my thinking,

discolor

my core

 

displace my beliefs

so that they’re destitute

and poor,

 

and wandering alone

through forgotten

corridors

 

where esteem

and gratitude search

for windows or doors

 

that lead

back to my psyche

where they can restore

 

a pathway of hope

for my dreams

to explore

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Hope, Poetry, Recovery and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to #180 of 365 – “menagerie”

  1. pi314chron says:

    Much to like here, especially “menagerie of dreams broken.” Very imagistic. The tour de force of end-rhymed “ore” sounds in all eight stanzas begins to grow heavy and ponderous, but it may well accomplish what you intended. Still, stanza one redeems the whole work and kept me reading to the very end. Encore! *g*

    • Blackbird says:

      More? 😉 Sorry…couldn’t help it. Yeah…sometimes I get a little caught up in sounds…oh well…glad the first stanza kept you reading…think I’ll step away from the rhymes for a bit…we’ll see what happens.

  2. [?]

    On Sun, Mar 30, 2014 at 10:00 PM, ElevenFifty9 wrote:

    > Blackbird posted: “”menagerie” like a menagerie of dreams broken on > my life’s floors old behaviors, airborne on emotional spores attach to > my thinking, discolor my core displace my beliefs so that they’re > destitute and”

  3. Starralee says:

    Oh this is quite fabulous–great work.

Feel free to comment.

