#183 of 365 – “sand”

 “sand”

 

sometimes I drag,

with fatigue

heavy in tow

from my sleep

 

dream tides

pulling bits of my consciousness

like sand

back out to sea

 

the day looks ragged

bad news

sits waiting

at its brim

 

but I have prayers

to tame the morning

and ride the sun

rays like a hymn

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Depression, Faith, God, Hope, Recovery and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to #183 of 365 – “sand”

  1. [?]

    On Wed, Apr 2, 2014 at 10:03 PM, ElevenFifty9 wrote:

    > Blackbird posted: “”sand” sometimes I drag, with fatigue heavy in > tow from my sleep dream tides pulling bits of my consciousness like sand > back out to sea the day looks ragged bad news sits waiting at its brim > but I”

  2. pi314chron says:

    I’m confused. What happened to the following “last stanza”?

    but I have prayers

    to tame the morning

    and ride the sun

    rays like a hymn

    It seems preferable to the “old guy.” Juss wondering!

    • Blackbird says:

      What???! Huh!?! Why, what do you mean? Looks the same to me. 😉

      Having one of those indecisive “this sucks!” moments. Thanks for the feedback…I think I like the first one better too.

  3. Starralee says:

    Oh my goodness, that’s beautiful.

    • Blackbird says:

      Thanks so much! Glad you enjoyed it…I was in a fit of self-doubt about this one…means a great deal when others can see value where I can’t. As always, your comments are greatly appreciated Starralee!

      • Starralee says:

        Isn’t that interesting–the ones we doubt are often the “hits”. That’s why I don’t agonize over posts anymore–just put ’em up, as someone will usually think they’re worthy. And in case you haven’t figured it out, I’m a bit on the picky side–so if I’m regularly reading you, and commenting, it’s not just idle flattery!

      • Blackbird says:

        Thanks Starralee! Never take your compliments as idle flattery…and you’re so right–can’t tell you how often I’ve thought, “Eh…well they can’t all be barn-burners!” Just to check back in later to find the farm is ashes…and vice versa.

      • Starralee says:

        Barn-burners and ashes, yep some days blogging is like that! Recently, I thought posting more frequently (3 in a day) would garner more attention–nope–so I may have “wasted” the poems which were ignored….oh well, there’s always more.

  4. pi314chron says:

    Ahhh! NOW, it’s a symphony! So easy to love! 🙂

    Ron

Feel free to comment.

