#184 of 365 – “pursuit”

“pursuit”

 

I make so many mistakes

that progress is hard to see for me

 

errors spill all over the hours

like oil on the sea

 

I get so angry with the blackened

crude and dirt upon my wings

 

and I can’t fly with the regret

and weight of sadness that it brings

 

my path seems littered with the jagged rocks

I’ve stumbled on before

 

my eyes burn with reoccuring tears

and my feet are worn and sore

 

and I can’t muster up the honesty

or courage to change the truth

 

that the jagged rocks are nothing more

than my cowardice in pursuit

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Courage, Cowardice, Depression, Lessons, Poetry, Recovery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to #184 of 365 – “pursuit”

  1. Starralee says:

    Wow, you keep blowing me away with these–phenomenal writing, truly.

Feel free to comment.

