#188 of 365 – “remnants”

“remnants”

 

I worry that my life

will disappear beneath time’s ash

 

and memories of me, no longer fresh

will be lost like bits of trash

 

there are no biological remnants

of me to leave behind

 

no history of  my DNA

for future cells to find

 

so I make things, and write things

and hope to God they last

 

because they’ll be all that’s left of me

when my life is in the past

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Art, Creativity, Future, Life, Past, Poems, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to #188 of 365 – “remnants”

  1. Starralee says:

    Oh, but we live on in people’s memories, too. I’m just sure there are one or 2 folks who’ll be kind enough to remember me positively…..

  2. pi314chron says:

    Very powerful, Merle — deep and profound. Even leaving behind children is only a temporary hedge against being forgotten by the world. Writing books is equally a vain and wan pursuit. Hundreds of thousands of books are written every year, and almost without exception the authors are lost to memory before their death. We all want to be immortal, but not one of us will be. That gets easier to accept as you grow older…it really does.

    • Blackbird says:

      Thanks Ron! Okay…I’ll take your word for it. Will just sit under my umbrella of “gonna live forever” until I’m a bit more comfortable with stepping out into the rain of mortality.

      • pi314chron says:

        The point I wish I had made more clearly is that we, all of us, must live in the moment…must live as if we are going to die tomorrow, not live forever through our progeny, things we create (including books), and the memories of those who knew and loved us. All we can be assured of is that mortality will most certainly be swallowed up and we will ALL be forgotten in time. We are grains of sand on the shores of forever. It does little good to lament our own passing NOR to pretend that we will live forever. The best any of us can do is to “redeem the time.”

      • Blackbird says:

        Thanks Ron…I’m only kidding about my little umbrella. And of course, lamenting one’s own passing kind of defeats the purpose of still being here. Those moments are brief (thank God)…but I try to capture them anyway. Feels like if I can capture that feeling or fear in words, then I have some measure of power in letting it go. Grain of sand, drop of water, breath of air, nanosecond in the endless ticking of time…I know. Thanks for your caring words of wisdom. But, I really am gonna live forever! 😉

      • pi314chron says:

        Oh, if it were only up to me…you would live “forever and a day.” And you’re exactly right to “put a face on the enemy” by writing about your fears. I sometimes forget that you are writing poetry and not an autobiographical sketch. Mea culpa!

        <>

        Ron

Feel free to comment.

