#190 of 365 – “demands”

“demands”

 

I am desperate

for a change

I’m trying hard to manifest

 

eager to transform

the feelings

that have caused me such unrest

 

but I’ve been unable

to alter

the way that I think

 

any more than

I could force myself

back when, not to drink

 

I get frustrated

and impatient

and want everything now

 

and I want prayer, sometimes

to take the place

of sweat on my brow

 

I am confused

about what exactly

it is that I’m to do

 

that will lead me

to a path that’s not so

twisted and askew

 

it is clearly

a matter that is out

of my hands

 

but apparently

God

doesn’t listen to demands

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Addict Behavior, alcoholism, Answers, Change, Depression, Future, God, Growth, Poetry, Prayer, Recovery and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #190 of 365 – “demands”

  1. Starralee says:

    Oh, do I know this feeling! I know He hears the demands, but whether he answers them as quickly as we think we need ’em–that’s another question. That “Patience Desert” is a long hard and hot walk–please know I’m praying fervently for you.

  2. sassyD says:

    Oh, I rather think God has a very special way of responding to the demands of the Leo soul. It might be a whisper, that you can never notice, as long as your fist are in the air loudly demanding a response. Try quiet listening.

    Baby,you can interrupt the mind tapes. In the work I have done, we call them “-IT-“- they were laid down early, without you even having a say. What I say when my mind tapes start driving me nuts—” thank you for sharing . “IT” was created to allow” us to survive particular circumstances in the past. Those tapes will always be rollin’ , I replace them with more empowering conversations–maybe an affirmation. I am powerful beyond measure-. Make up one that empowers you when your “IT” starts messin’ with you.

    Love

Feel free to comment.

