#191 of 365 – “vitamin C”

“vitamin C”

 

it is a nuisance

all the coughing

and pills that don’t work

 

all the not being able to breathe

and feeling your mind

stuck in the murk

 

I never actually believe

I’ll get sick

until I do

 

then I quick

do all of the healthy things

I already knew

 

and then I drag myself

to work

with a pale and bothered heave

 

full of pity

that the self-employed

do not have paid sick-leave

 

is all of this really necessary?

I ask

the powers that be

 

yes, they answer again

till you learn

to take your vitamin C

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #191 of 365 – “vitamin C”

  1. Starralee says:

    Oh, that Vit C or the whole handful of vitamins would do the trick!

Feel free to comment.

