#208 of 365 – “black lipstick”

“black lipstick”

 

anger comes with matted hair

and black lipstick

 

self-pity with her nose

all runny and red

 

defeat with shoulders drawn

eyes empty and sick

 

regret with her memories

smashed and torn to a shred

 

indecision brings nothing

but his vast and heavy space

 

compulsion with the scoured hands

of agonizing need

 

procrastination with deep lines

of fear on her face

 

dishonesty with his twisted mouth

and language to mislead

 

my only weapon here is prayer

that I’ll stumble into grace

 

and though they taunt and try to break me

this is a war I won’t concede

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Addict Behavior, Addiction, Grace, Poetry, Prayer, Recovery and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #208 of 365 – “black lipstick”

  1. pi314chron says:

    Simple but effective rhyme scheme and a real “Wowza” for heavy-duty thinking. I hope Starralee doesn’t mind too much that I used her “Wowza.” It just seemed the thing to do at the time.

  2. Starralee says:

    “His” dishonesty, misleading language–brings back harsh memories for me. I don’t know how I could just swallow the whoppers I heard over and over and over…. But on a positive note, “stumbling into grace” can be the best way to do it!

Feel free to comment.

