#213 of 365 – 5 Haiku about children and cars

5 Haiku about children and cars

 

 

non-working street lamp

dented, wrapped with teddy bears

ribbons and flowers

 

 

speeding and laughing

three boys in a red wagon

later, it was crushed

 

 

my bike was so fast

I didn’t look till car brakes

screeched; almost too late

 

 

my body shook on

a bike that brought death within

inches of my life

 

 

in a parallel

universe, that car hit me ―

glad I don’t live there

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Cars, Children, Death, Haiku, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to #213 of 365 – 5 Haiku about children and cars

  1. pi314chron says:

    There’s a lot here to think about and enjoy again and again! My favorite, of course, is the last one. No! Wait! That’s not me! That’s “alternate-me,” but he says to tell you that he LOVES it!!

  2. sassyD says:

    Well, One part of me wants to ask–Did this really happen to you? On second thought –don’t tell me—.

    • Blackbird says:

      Uhh…well…sorry Mummzy…yes, I’m afraid it really did happen. Coming out of the alley onto 17th St on our old block. Guess you’re also glad we’re not in the parallel universe. 😉

  3. Starralee says:

    Wow, scary–and so sad about the kids, oh gosh.

    • Blackbird says:

      Yeah…it was pretty scary…and it’s always sad when you see a pole or something wrapped in ribbons and stuffed animals. And the boys in the wagon…I remember that like it was yesterday…coming home from school with my sister and brother, walking up our block and seeing the boys speeding through the major intersection at the bottom of our hill…and later seeing the wagon.

Feel free to comment.

