#216 of 365 – 5 Haiku about dishonesty

5 Haiku about dishonesty

 

 

she is angry that

so many moves later, we

are back to square one

 

 

so much disarray

plans broken up like litter

the path back to truth

 

 

like iron and stone

so heavy a straw can crush―

dishonesty’s weight

 

 

no excuse for lies

when you’ve had forty years to

overcome the truth

 

 

I still fear the truth

as if it’s too big, and I’m

too small to hold it

 

 

 

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry, Recovery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to #216 of 365 – 5 Haiku about dishonesty

  1. pi314chron says:

    My wife says I don’t know when to keep quiet. Tonight I will prove her wrong and not comment on these. Some things are too personal for a non-family member’s comments. But the usual disclaimer applies: THIS, TOO, SHALL PASS.

    Warmest,

    Ron

  2. The Manoj Arora says:

    Terrific!!

    stuck elevator
    a date-
    with my watch

    Do check out more of my works when you have time: http://themanojarorablog.wordpress.com/

  3. Starralee says:

    Yes, very familiar–especially the last one, as truths can be heavy as a boulder on our little frame and heart. Someone told me, “don’t ask to know, if you don’t think you can handle the knowledge”. I used to think I was strong enough–because I wanted to KNOW, rather than just imagine the worst (or think I was crazy); but I’ve grown wiser in my old age–ignorance is indeed a flavor of bliss.

    • Blackbird says:

      Yeah…I hear you. Unfortunately, ignorance of one’s self(or as it’s more commonly known-denial) isn’t one of those flavors for me – becomes very bitter especially when what’s under it is revealed.

      • Starralee says:

        Yes, denial is hard to maintain–don’t know how some people do it for a lifetime, as I can only manage brief spurts (mini mind vacations).

Feel free to comment.

