#221 of 365 – “leap”

 “leap”

 

my darkness is embroidered

with threads of light today

the din softened

by cushions of music that play

my anger, laid out in the sun

to have its ugly colors dyed

my knotted panic and regret

blown by the winds until untied

 

 

I’m on the dock of yesterday

my toes dipped into tomorrow

today’s ripples on the surface

having swallowed up my sorrow

I watch my hopes splash in the surf

as if they’re trying to be free

and I pray the waters wash me clean

and leap into the sea

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Change, Growth, Hope, Past, Poetry, Prayer, Recovery, Regret and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #221 of 365 – “leap”

  1. Starralee says:

    Always fabulous writing–don’t know how you do it everyday, but my sneaking suspicion is that it’s a gift we crazy persons are given!

  2. pi314chron says:

    Merle, I just have to say how very much I like the visual format of this poem…much more than your usual format. As an official OF, this format is closer to what I grew up with…sort of like “old home week”…you know?!

    Favorite phrase : “my darkness is embroidered with threads of light today” That really speaks to me, as my Mother taught my sister and me to embroider, so we would have something to do when we were home from school either for bad weather or sickness. I LOVED to embroider, some of the vanishingly few memories of happy times with Mother. Thank you so much, and I’m so glad that you’re beginning to get out from under the “dark clouds.” 😛

    Ron

Feel free to comment.

