#227 of 365 – 6 Haiku about then and now

6 Haiku about then and now

 

 

I waited hours, months

for her to call; when phones were

only in houses

 

 

before cell phones and

answering machines, there was

the busy signal

 

 

I had to practice

sounding cool, nonchalant; now

they just send a text

 

 

we played wherever,

at each other’s houses; now

parents make play dates

 

 

dictionaries were

paper mines to dig through to

find the gold nuggets

 

 

I remember snow

sound’s abrupt absence; TV

ending for the night

 

 

 

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Changes, Haiku, Past, Poetry, Time and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to #227 of 365 – 6 Haiku about then and now

  1. pi314chron says:

    Oh, can I relate to these! Cool! As for dictionaries, I use my two-volume, back-breaking, hernia-inducing set of THE NEW SHORTER OXFORD ENGLISH DICTIONARY every day and couldn’t do without it. I recommend it to you as a writer. It’s simply grrrrr8!

    • Blackbird says:

      Oh…I have my “big red” unabridged gem of a huge dictionary…birthday present from years ago. Love it! Thanks for the comment Ron…always appreciate what you share.

  2. Starralee says:

    There’s something about the need to make “play dates” that I find disturbing, somehow.

      • Starralee says:

        Even in my dysfunctional childhood, it was a time and place where moms just hollered, “Go Out and Play!”

      • Blackbird says:

        That’s what I’m talking about! My parents wouldn’t see me for hours….unfortunately now, if I don’t know where my daughter is, my first thought is that someone snatched her up. I guess the up side is that they don’t know any different…only we do.

      • Starralee says:

        Yes, things are far different now for parents–high-alert, distrust of literally everyone because of the hideous stories we’re pelted with daily. It’s such a sad and difficult situation–I don’t know how you reach a healthy balance, raising safe kids who don’t grow up neurotic. But intuition tells me you’re gifted to succeed.

      • Blackbird says:

        Oh….I’m afraid they would be quite neurotic if it weren’t for my spouse…she’s the really awesome mom…I suppose we compliment each other though. Anyway…thanks Starralee!

Feel free to comment.

