#231 of 365 – “soup line”

“soup line”

 

loneliness

a famine

like dust

in my soul

dims away

space

obscures

the sunshine

leaves me

stranded deep

in depression’s

soup line

no opening

for the light

to utter

a sound

only room

now

for the quiet

moon

to bring night

crashing

down

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Depression, disappointment, Marriage, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #231 of 365 – “soup line”

  1. pi314chron says:

    I wish something I could say could help…but all I can say is, “Achingly beautiful, Merle.” The last seven lines touch a chord of remembrance that is painful all over again.

  2. Starralee says:

    I love “depression’s soup line”–very apt description. Pondering the “famine” of loneliness, as I’ve never felt I was lonely–too much creative goings-on in my head. However, the downside of that is that my relationship skills with real people–are nil. So if I didn’t have the wildly active internal life, perhaps then I would surely be lonely. (Too much thinking before noon today–but thanks always for the great writing!)

Feel free to comment.

