#232 of 365 – “patch of green”

“patch of green”

 

I see breadcrumbs, feel light

and a bit of sweet rainfall

 

hear the faint hymns of freedom

scaling my wall

 

there’s food for the famished

a few prayers for the weak

 

and a small patch of green

in fields dusty and bleak

 

motherly skies chase

rough winds from her day

 

and make refuge

to keep the cruel darkness away

 

About Blackbird

Poet, sculptor, writer, spouse, parent, crazy person - not necessarily in that order.
This entry was posted in Depression, Grace, Gratitude, Growth, Hope, Light, Poetry, Recovery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to #232 of 365 – “patch of green”

  1. Starralee says:

    Oh wow-wonderful–I really, really, really loved “motherly skies” (I think you know why from my posts/comments).

  2. pi314chron says:

    “Patch of Green” is, for me, a patch of wonder! I’m a little shaky on understanding all the imagery, but I don’t understand MANY things in life that I still enjoy and appreciate. I love the throbbing rhythm, the persistence of hope in spite of a world that is often “dusty and bleak,” the effective use of rhyme, and most of all I love it because it was written by a lovely spirit and a personal friend. 🙂

    • Blackbird says:

      Oh…thank you Ron! Is it the “breadcrumbs?” If so, that’s like breadcrumbs to find my way home…or wherever… Anyway, you are a dear friend, and your comments always mean so much to me. 🙂

Feel free to comment.

